I Got Bourbon Faced On Shit Street

The Sing Sing Rocking on Saturday Night

The Sing Sing Rocking on Saturday Night

SingSingMonday

The Sing Sing Monday Night

Such was the refrain from a poor sap from Kansas City who had just finished his second hand grenade dacquiri. “They don’t have no see food in Kansas, only cows.” Strange vibes and bad craziness at the Sing Sing Bar on Bourbon Street. We were there on Saturday Night packed in and dancing to Wang Dang Doodle belted out by a beautiful bald diva channeling Aretha and Koko Taylor. Left to see what else was going on but everything else sucked. When we tried to find it again it was gone like a mirage in a sea of sloppy drunks and stinky puddles of god knows what. We came back a few days later to make sure we were not dreaming and found it right where we left it. A beady eyed drunk shambled in and started banging his beer bottle on the bar. He couldn’t keep rhythm with the Hendrix that the band was rapping out. Asked nicely to leave twice, given a third chance but too impaired to see the shark bubbles rising from the deep. Given the bums rush after he layed hands on the bouncer. The drummer dove on him from the riser and a helpful patron from Vegas joined in for good measure. The bass player hopped behind the skins to finish “The Wind Cried Mary” as things got heavy. The bouncer grabbed a bar stool and chased him down Bourbon street, laughing as he returned. “This shit happens EVERY NIGHT”. We saw bad rhythm boy later cuffed and docile with his face against the wall. He seemed somehow at home in that position. The cops looked bored. Just another Monday night in the Quarter.

This entry was posted in Funny Rant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Got Bourbon Faced On Shit Street

  1. David Grimes says:

    Been there….it’s all a fuzzy dream though. Hopefully none of it happened like I dreamed it.

    Enjoy reading your blog…..maybe I will blog about your blog…kind of a metablog. Anyway, keep it up please. Cheers!

  2. DennisVega says:

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

  3. RobD says:

    Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday. 🙂

  4. RobD says:

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks. 🙂

    • Alan says:

      Rob,
      Thanks for your interest. I am trying to put something up every day that is both fun to do and entertaining. Definitely go to the Sing Sing if you go to NO. We had mucho fun there.

  5. I dont know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    …..Frank Scurley

  6. Savannah says:

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

    • Alan says:

      Thanks for stopping in Savannah and I am glad you enjoyed yourself. I can say that it has been a chore sometimes to get something of value posted every day rather than a running commentary on my daily life. Enlisting my sister made all the difference in the world and I think motivates both of us to generate content. Thanks again

Leave a Reply

